An Evening I will Cherish

How do I describe Sunday night. Exhilarating, exciting, amazing, incredible are all good
words but they don’t seem to come close to how I felt when Kennedy and I got to meet Amy Grant.

Let’s first roll back a few years, when I lost Livvy I was send one of Amy’s songs by a dear
friend. It was supposed to just bring me some encouragement. It did far more than that, it helped me survive. it became the song that I played over and over, the lyrics reminding me that I wasn’t alone that God was there to share my pain, to let myself lean on him, to trust him.

So as you can see getting the chance to actually meet Amy Grant last night blew me away.
The emotions overwhelmed and I actually ended up crying on her shoulder. Poor Kennedy finished my story while Amy just hugged me. Have I mentioned what an amazing women she was.

The whole evening was a blessing for me and Kennedy. The tickets were brought by someone who I have the honour to call a friend. A gesture so out of the blue I still get a radiant glow just thinking about how blessed I am to have such incredible loving people in my life

This same dear friend tweeted me Sunday afternoon to ring her ASAP. My heart was in my
mouth, had the concert been cancelled, was there a problem? No problem just a beautiful announcement, my dear friend had arranged for Kennedy and I to actually meet Amy. That’s right we met Amy Grant woo hoo. It didn’t stop there either, my friend told me to wait for a call from Tim Jupp that’s right Tim from Delirious, Tim the incredible brains, energy behind the big church day out. I was speechless. Anybody looking at Kennedy and I at the M1 junction services yesterday may have wondered why we were just holding each other crying.
This is why, we were so blessed.

Move forward a few hours and following a stressful journey driving through the centre of
London (remind me I need a new Sat Nav).

We were there shaking hands with Tim receiving our special badges to go meet Amy Grant.
Tim then disappeared before we managed to get a photograph together but I just want to say thank you Tim for helping arrange this for us.

As Kennedy and I stood in that line waiting to see Amy I could feel my emotions bubbling
inside of me. How honoured did I feel that i was actually going to meet and thank this incredible artist for her music.

Amy did not disappoint us; she was so warm, caring and genuine. She hugged us both listened to my story and hugged me again. It was five minutes that will last a lifetime
for me.

Her concert was in incredible Amy’s voice is as pure live as it on her CDs; you can hear the emotional in her songs. We were treated to old songs and new songs, one that I’m waiting impatiently to be recorded as I loved it so much.

The show was opened by a gospel band IDMC, normally I confess opening bands frustrate me, I’m just too impatient waiting to see the artist I’ve come to watch, yet I loved this band, and their combined voices blew me away. We brought their CD and are sure it will be played often.

The whole evening was wonderful, it was an unplugged set, no fancy lights, costumes, effects just Amy her incredible band and their God gifted voices.

I didn’t want it to end.

I phoned my husband after the concert my words were, “it was a night that will live
in my heart forever”.

To some it was a mere concert, to me it was so much more.

Elizabeth thank you so for your gift, you blessed me more than you know.

Before I go I would like to tell you about the reason Amy was performing last night, she
was their supporting and promoting the incredible work done by Operation
Mobilisation
and Compassion International.

I have more to write on these charities but for now I want to leave you with this
song.  The song that was a gift that became my salvation. Carry You

 

 

 

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Evening I will Cherish

  1. I can see my prayers did you some good!
    I’m happy you had a pleasant evening, that’s for sure something you should cherish.
    Beauty in the minor things, small details, lesser happy moments – sometimes it’s just hard to see them because we’re worried about so many things of our daily life, but maybe that’s the purpose of life: having to open our eyes to these moments so we can smile at them and learn how not to miss them even if we’re not at our best.

    Thank you for your kind words on my last post. I changed my blog’s address though, it’s now http://thatisalligot.blogspot.com/ in case you want to keep in touch.

    Shalom since Brazil!

  2. simplyhayley says:

    Just reading that brought shivers down my spine! I’m so thrilled for you getting to meet her! That is just amazing! I’m glad you both had a wonderful night! Sounds like she is an absolutely wonderful person as well as singer!

Leave a Reply

