Mums on three

 Last Friday I had the pleasure of attending a event for the three ‘On the Go campaign’ in Birmingham. Check it out here, on there Facebook page.

The whole workshop was about getting moms together and looking at designing an app that would be beneficial in our daily lives.

 

All mums together

 

I must admit I was surprised how attached I have become to my Smartphone. I use it as a camera, for social networking, the calendar, meal planner and for blogging all that of course along with making phone calls or sending texts.

I’m also finding out how useful it is to get me from A to B though my next gift to myself will be a car holder so I can use the sat navigation features more. My list of uses to be honest could be endless, I use it to read books, surf the net, do my shopping I also play games on it though only scrabble and bubble shooter as I’m far from a gamer. My daughter also uses it as a mirror to check her makeup, teenagers ha ha.

To be honest I’m in love and while physically I’m sure I could survive without it emotionally may be a different matter.

Anyway I digress nothing new for me there but let’s get back to the three event.

The perfect app for busy mums!

Statics show that half of all UK mums (48 per cent) admit to going online in the depths of the night just to get everything done.

Research confirms that mums are always on the go, with most mums (82 per cent) now having less than an hour of me time a day, leaving the majority of mums (78 per cent) stressed on a daily basis.

But the market for applications is growing daily with some amazing and useful ones out there. So seriously were we going to be able to bring something new to the scene?

Our first task was to write down on post it notes your daily tasks, one thing per note of what you need to do each day. I confess I was horrified at the results

Our daily tasks

Yet even after this I realised I had missed out so much more. Besides my charity work being a foster carer and a parent the roles of taxi driver to two teenagers and being a wife got completely overlooked. My poor husband, but that’s another blog post.

I wasn’t alone each women in that room found themselves wishing they had a couple more hours in the day.

After chatting for a while about current apps and ideas we were set into groups and given the challenge of creating the perfect app for busy people everywhere.

I loved it, the group was full of some great ideas and inspiration flowed. After the joining of the groups together we designed what I believe is the perfect app. In fact I so want it NOW. Yes you can imagine me stamping my feet .

Now the Birmingham team app goes forward and will be unveiled at a later date with four others from workshops around the country. Then it will be up to you the general public to vote via Facebook for your favourite one. How exciting. I will update you after the competition starts with information on how to vote for mine no sorry I mean your favourite application. But while you wait pop over to the ‘mums on the go’ Facebook page and take a look. Don’t forget when you are over there to enter their great competition to win an amazing Caribbean holiday.

As for me I off to continue my love affair with my smart phone and hopefully remember to pick up my girls and show my hubby some love.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

