Penguins and Memories

Yesterday we visited Twycross Zoo with friends. We had a great time the children all got on great and there was a lot of fun and laughter.

Yet in the mist of all this there was one moment when my heart broke. The moment that pierced my very soul. Standing staring at the penguins I noticed the tears fall down my daughters face. Brodie had stood there and at that precise moment she was overwhelmed with grief. Her missing of her big sister Livvy became too much for her to handle and the tears fell.

Memories are one of our greatest gifts we hold them close to our heart. They help cushion the pain. Yet today as Brodie stood watching the cute black and white birds swim elegantly through the water. Her mind took her back to three years ago when she spend time peering through the glass holding her sister’s hand watching her face as Livvy giggled  at them. You see the penguin was Livvy’s favourite animal in the whole zoo. She loved them her giggles echoed in our mind today as we sat watching them. Personally I was grateful for my sunglasses as they hid my tears.

The day ended with the adoption of penguin from the zoo for Brodie and new memories made but our heart will always be full of our old ones. We miss our special angel so much.
Not a day goes by where she isn’t in our thoughts. I think I can safer say not an hour goes by. Yet I am grateful for the time we had and the fact that I was lucky enough to be her mom.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Penguins and Memories

  1. Hayley says:

    Oh bless her! At least now you have a special penguin! And sunglasses are handy for that 😉 xxx

  2. urbanvox says:

    aw bless!! 🙂
    yeah… memories keep me going when I think I can’t too…
    Reason why I think making new ones is so important!
    breathe… and keep going! 😉

    xxx

Leave a Reply

