Dreaming

This may sound crazy but sometimes I believe we get limited by our dreams. Let me try to explain what I mean.

When I was a child of course I went through a variety of dreams, to be a dancer, to join the army. I was so sure that I wouldn’t get married or have children.

Imagine if I had stick to that pathway Only following that dream. I wouldn’t have had the blessing of a wonderful husband or four amazing children.

As I have grown I have watched my dreams change, grow, evolve in ways I could never imagine. Life experiences changing the person I was the person I have become.

My dreams of yesterday seem little compared to my dreams of today.

This is where I find dreams limited, the truth is they are only our dreams of today. Tomorrow is yet to be written.

I’m not saying don’t dream , far from it dreaming is a wonderful way to plan pray and create. Yet when we become so focussed on today’s dream we don’t give space for tomorrows to grow.

I love the term daydream because that is so true. Each day our dreams are for the here the now the present.

I love the gift of our imagination but also accept the fact that we can only see so far down the pathway of life. Accepting this gives me strength I don’t know what tomorrow holds but for today I’m enjoying the daydream.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming

  1. urbanvox says:

    Very well put!
    Although… I’d add that our imagination and circumstances limit who we are and what we do in response to that.
    Some people get so tangled up on what is going on today that they end um making harsh decisions based on what their minds/imagination/feelings tell them now… And by doing that they kill the dream of what could be tomorrow…
    A few years ago I’d say go with the flow of life and see where it takes you… I’m trying to do that again… 🙂

  2. A dream just for today…I like that! Tomorrow is not yet ours, is it?

    Blessings friend!

Leave a Reply

