Never Give Up

Yesterday I updated my Facebook status with the words ‘I give up’ and at the point when I wrote those words that’s exactly how I felt. A dear friend feared for her daughter. Dr’s weren’t being supportive and I was simply frustrated with life.

Roll forward a few hours and I was just walking into alpha when a wise man told me simply he didn’t like my status “you can never give up”.

What truth was in those words? Even in the darkest moments we know we have to carry on. We couldn’t just sit still and say enough is enough. Our bodies would go into self-preservation mode and we would become hungry, thirsty, have to use the bathroom.

Think back to the times when you were ready to give up, what happened? A kind word from a friend, a cuddle from a child, a phone call from your spouse.

Something that reminded you of the light in the midst of darkness!

We never give up!

Somehow, something, someone gives you strength and hope.

For me my faith ensures that I am never alone. That when I cannot find strength in myself I know I can turn to the Lord and find my strength in him.

But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:31, NIV

My hope, my strength can be found in my children’s hugs, my husband’s smile, my friends words.

We can’t give up, life is full of hope.

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, who he has given us.”

Romans 5.5,NIV

 

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Never Give Up

  1. R says:

    Giving up feels so easy some days though doesnt it? Its a question of being able to get through that hopefully temporary dark time and visualising the good that is/may be coming. My God isn’t from faith, but perhaps somewhere deep inside within he/she exists to keep me going. I just hope he/she doesnt get tired of me.

  2. Lily says:

    Beautiful! I love this post and the verses you quoted. 🙂 I have definitely felt like giving up and those moments have usually been remedied with a heartfelt conversation and deep prayers to a Savior who loves me unconditionally.

Leave a Reply

