Feelings not Facts

I was reading a chapter of Rick Warrens “The purpose driven life” last night when I was struck by the statement. “Focus on their feelings not the facts”. This to me was very profound.

How many times do we go into a conflict knowing that we are right that we have the facts to back us up. Going in for the kill not realising that at times the facts don’t really matter. How the person is feeling should be more where our heart is in the situation.

I confess that at times I have got into a right rage at my husband over something he has done. I have had my facts at the ready each one like a knife to thrust into his heart. Anger has controlled my heart, controlled my tongue. The self rightness I have taken from having facts in my arsenal has taken me to a place where the enemy has jumped with joy. Nothing is as blind as anger.

Psalm 73;21:22

21 When my heart was grieved

  and my spirit embittered,

22 I was senseless and ignorant;

  I was a brute beast before you.

How in the ignorance of my rage I have looked at my husband and seen the damage from my words. At times he knows he has done wrong yet the truth is I haven’t asked him why. I never looked to see the bigger picture.

Sometimes we have all known what is right yet have chosen to do something different. Maybe what is right for us wouldn’t be right for others. Taking a loss so that others may gain! You can’t see these truths in the facts only in the feelings.

I must admit I felt God talking to my heart with these verses reminding me that life isn’t always black and White it’s a multitude of amazing and wondrous colours. Yes at times they may not match but that’s sometimes more beautiful.

 Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools.

(Ecclesiastes 7:9, NIV)

  The LORD is gracious and compassionate; slow to anger and rich in love.

(Psalms 145:8, NIV)

I give thanks that even in my ignorance the Lord offers me forgiveness!

 You are forgiving and good, O Lord, abounding in love to all who call to you.

(Psalms 86:5, NIV)

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feelings not Facts

  1. Marie says:

    “Taking a loss so that others may gain”

    i love this about you!

    you bless me so!

    @spreadingJOY

  2. urbanvox says:

    sometimes falling on the sword is the right way…
    that is something I’ve been doing for a long time… it is just such a hard thing to get out of the habit and keep a sain balance to do…
    and you know that what you are doing is the right thing for others… and take comfort on the fact that you are doing good… even though you are dyeing by the second…
    I think I am the complete oposite from you on that one… 🙂
    but I agree with you…
    I just need to learn to find the balance…

Leave a Reply

