It won’t stop you.

I took my daughter ice skating this morning. As I watched her skate I could see something wasn’t right, she was far from the focussed individual she normally is.

As she left the ice after her lesson she called me over. The reason I found for her struggling was the fact that her chest was tight.

Eden, Brodie and I are all asthmatics and to be perfectly honest I was rather cross. The reality is that she does know better and she is aware of the need to manage her condition.

I asked her why she hadn’t come off the ice and used her inhaler, her answer “Ice skaters shouldn’t have asthma”

This really surprised me that this had been mind; her asthma is well-managed and rarely causes her any problems. Yet she still believes that asthma would stop her from achieving her dreams.

Asthma is a condition that affects the airways – the small tubes that carry air in and out of the lungs.

  • 5.4m people in the UK are currently receiving treatment for asthma.
  • 1.1m children in the UK are currently receiving treatment for asthma.
  • There is a person with asthma in one in five households in the UK.

Asthma is an incurable illness. However, with good treatment and management there is no reason why a person with asthma cannot live a normal and active life.

This afternoon I did some research to prove to Eden that many asthmatics have gone on to achieve their sporting goals.

Paula Radcliffe – world record holder marathon

Dennis Rodman – professional basketball player

The one that really helped me get the point across:-

Kristi Yamaguchi – Olympic medalist, figure skating (one of Eden’s heroes)

Asthma isn’t the best thing to have happened to us, but we cannot and will not let it limit our lives. Yes asthma is something to be taken seriously as it can be fatal but as I quoted above with good management you can live a normal life.

Thankfully Eden has seen that asthma won’t stand in the way of her dreams.

If you are affected by asthma or would like to learn more about it check out http://www.asthma.org.uk/index.html for professional and helpful advice.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

