Broken Links

Since my daughter died I have wore her ring on a chain around my neck.

I remember the day, the moment the hour we brought this ring. We were holidaying in Tenby and Eden had let Livvy wear a pretend ring she had won. Livvy was so happy about wearing it we decided to treat her with a real one.

She was so excited when we entered the jewellers, bless her she knew exactly which one she wanted. A beautiful silver band with a simple Amber stone.

The ring fitted perfectly as if it was made for her.

All around Tenby and for the following days Livvy would show anyone and everyone her new ring. She was so proud and happy.

The gift of memories!

Well back to the chain around my neck. This weekend it got broken.

I’m not sure how I felt, at first the shock made me numb. I hadn’t removed this chain for over 2 years. My neck felt so empty.

Then I slowly came to the realisation that the broken chain was a physical connection. My heart was full of the emotional connection.

I don’t need physical items to hold my daughter close I have the memories that are deeply buried in my heart in the depth of my soul.

My heart aches with the missing but I realise as I look at the broken links of the chain that I am forever connected to my baby.

The bond between a mother and a child is eternal.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Broken Links

  1. Anita says:

    Hello,
    I am glad I discovered your blog via Lesley’s. It is so moving!!
    God bless,
    Anita

Leave a Reply

