They have landed.

They are scary
Talk a different language
Destructive
At times can look rather weird

No aliens haven’t landed in my home just two teenagers!

This holiday season has woke me up to the realisation that at times I actually want to strangle my girls. Ok maybe not physically but sometimes!!!

I am doubting my parenting skills, have I really messed up so bad or like my friends warned me they really do turn into monsters at this age.

I’ve read so much about communicating with your teen but its hard when you feel like you are talking to a brick wall.

Mood swings well I thought with my PMT I could be bad, well they make me look like an angel.

I love them so much but honestly today if someone offered me places at boarding school for them they would be packed and shipped in minutes.

I miss the cuddles, the affection. The bedtime stories.

They prefer the company of friends rather than me now.

I’m sure my parents would read this and say you were exactly the same and maybe I was. I do have a new respect for my mom that’s for sure.

I’m just going to keep being there for them, they do still need me. I mean they have laundry and aren’t old enough to drive yet.

Don’t get me wrong I love watching them grow and in all honesty they are amazing young ladies, but some days I really miss my babies that needed me for everything.

Letting your children grow up isn’t easy, is it…

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to They have landed.

  1. Tia says:

    I was reading something myself the other day, and whilst I can’t remember the exact quot nor the author, the gist was something along the lines of “Treat him like a wild bird. Open the cage door, let him fly free, but leave the door open so he can come back.”

    The other thing I remember is a comment (different book) about teenage years actually being the second adolescence. The first being toddlerhood. Probably scant comfort, but perhaps the fact that they did in fact get through the toddler years (and without you strangling them!) gives hope that this too will pass?

    That or my friend Chrissie’s theory about teenage girls, which is that there’s a lobotomy fairy which visits around the 13th Birthday…

    Not easy. Don’t doubt your parenting. Question it, by all means; it is by questioning ourselves that we come to a fuller understanding of who we are and how we work. But never doubt that you are a good parent to your girls – and they’d tell you that themselves when the immediate battles/non-communication/general otherworldliness has passed for a while.

  2. Pat Yirrell says:

    Sara, what can I say other than hang on in there, they do come through it. Unfortunately girls can be worse than boys at this time, they care so much about peer pressure. You will invariably get ‘everyone else’s Mum lets them’ Or the worst that I heard, ‘well even if your Mum doesn’t want you to, go anyway’ From one of her so called friends.
    They have to make their mistakes, just as we made ours. Just be there to pick up the pieces. Also make sure that if you do object to anything, that you state the reasons why.
    Sadly when I once said to my daughter, ‘well I had pointed out to you the dangers of such and such’ she replied, well when you are a teenager all you hear is your parents saying ‘yah de yah de yah’ I wept over that one once I was alone.
    She came through it all, and is now a lovely friend. Don’t be ashamed to share your feelings with friends, and above all pray and ask others to pray for the girls.

  3. urbanvox says:

    hehehe… I’m happy I still got a while to get there….
    still… I kinda feel your pain… 🙂

Leave a Reply

