Lesson’s Learned

Yesterday we held our Livvy’s Christmas party. To say all didn’t go to plan is a GIANT understatement.

The good old British weather came to mess with our plans. Normally I’m a great lover of the snow but not when we have people travelling miles to come party with us.

Slowly but surely the list of cancellations got longer. Parents upset they couldn’t make it, children devastated from missing the fun.

My heart was aching, the tears fell and I was so disheartened. Then a family turned up followed by a couple more.

The balloon man had gone home, the face painter hadn’t even got here, but there was a bouncy castle, donkeys and food. The children were happy. After some arm twisting we also had a stand in Santa (my hubby rocks).

Brodie and her Santa Daddy

As my husband in the red suit ho ho hoed and asked all if they had been good this year. I watched the faces of the children. I saw their eyes light with wonder and I was struck by the words, quality not quantity.

Eden & Santa

It didn’t matter how many came in the end, the smiles on the faces of those few children, made all worthwhile.

Livvy taught us to take each day and make it count. To see the special in the ordinary! Today was one of those days.

Santa & his big girl Kennedy

I forget the financial lost of today and see the emotional gain. You cannot put a price on a child’s smile. They are priceless.

I am so grateful for what we have achieved. I know Livvy would have loved the party and while I’m missed having her there desperately. I know she was sending blessings from Heaven.

Lessons learned;-

Quality not Quantity!

See the special in the ordinary.

No matter what your day brings please see the special in the ordinary. Each moment we share together, be it doing chores, or crazy fun days out, each minute is a gift from God.

Cherish them and create magical memories x

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lesson’s Learned

  1. Tina Hillier says:

    Hugs! You are an amazing woman, blessing those around you from your pain. Livvy’s Party will have been a very special moment in the lives of those who did get there. The fact that people were so disappointed not to have made it shows what a wonderful party it is.
    So so hope that 2011 brings an opportunity for us to meet again.
    Sending you so much love and remembering you in our prayers always.
    Hugs

  2. Pat Yirrell says:

    Sarah, you are amazing! you always see the best in the darkest of circumstances, may God bless you richly. A happy Christmas to you and your family

  3. Kelly Butler says:

    I am sorry that the turn out was not what you expected but I know without a doubt that the people who were there were blessed! Hugs to you Sara! Thanks once again for your encouragement!

  4. Thank you for the reminder Sara. I must do that more often, as every ordinary task can be special if we just take time and cherish the moment as we do it.

    Happy Christmas, Mich xx

  5. Hayley says:

    Still so upset we didnt make it! “Santa” looks great πŸ˜‰ you cant tell the difference between stand in and the real santa hehe!

    Heres to next year πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

