Advice, a love hate relantionship

Advice, the thing will love to give but are not that willing to take!

I wonder really about giving advice to be perfectly honest, I am terrible at offering advice. I’m good at messing my own life up so I choose to leave others alone.

At times I have regretted stepping forward and offering help and support yet at times I wish I hadn’t kept my own counsel.

When we lost Livvy we received a lot of well-intentioned  advice but at times I wanted to tell people to go stick it, I mean how do they know?

When my illness was diagnosed so many had ideas of how I should deal with it, some were good some would have killed me.

Life is a continuous set of lessons; some times we have to fail to succeed. What works for one wouldn’t work for others. Will are all individuals and handle things in our own unique way. I love that about life. How special we all are!

When it comes to advice I know there is one who knows me inside and out.

“Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows ” Luke 12;7

To him I turn on my knees, he knows how I feel, he knows how I need to deal with things, he knows what the future holds,

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29.11

I am changing the word advice to prayer, when I’m tempted to offer words of wisdom I will offer prayer and support.

I will confess that I don’t understand how they are feeling, that we have to deal with it in our own way. But I promise to pray that they receive advice from the one who knows.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Advice, a love hate relantionship

  1. Chele says:

    Oh sweet Sara! I just love you!!! Saying what I have been trying to say all along! What an awesome way to put it. You are very right, we all deal with our struggles in our own ways and really the best thing to do for that person is offer prayer and support not to tell people how to feel or how to cope! Sometimes the hardest things to hear is be at peace, let it go, and so on. Nobody but God knows if I am at peace or have let it go… we all handle it our own way… it sometimes make you feel like worse of a person b/c of the words people speak. It’s okay to be frustrated, it’s okay to be down from time to time… as long as you are having your conversations with God is all that matters!! I think I just wrote a post! LOL. Anyway this is BEAUTIFUL!!!! Love it, love it, love it!

  2. Carol says:

    My husband passed away alomost 4 years ago. I had alot of advice on how I should feel and what I should be doing. I still get advice. About a year later I had people trying to fix me up with a few men. It seems they thought that’s what I needed to be happy. Now if I am friends with a man people think I’m either after him or he’s my boy friend.
    Since the loss of my husband I have been getting closer to the Lord. I am listening to Him . I know the Lord is with me and I know that He has things that He need’s me to do. I am trying to do those things. The Lord led me to Sharon United Methodist Church, it is where I should be. I have found a large church family there; a loving, praying family.
    I spend as much time as I can with my children and grandchildren. Staying busy doing the Lord’s work and family is what I needed. No one could tell me what I needed. Grief is personal. It is between myself and the Lord.
    I do thank the special friends and family that I have, who have allowed me to grieve in my own way. I send hugs to you Sarah and to you Chele and prayers.

    • Chele says:

      Sara, I go to church with Carol and she is one of the very few that has NOT given advice to me that has made me feeling worse. She is a beautiful person and I have never seen her comment on anything I’ve shared on Facebook. Your post Sara, is perfect!!!

  3. Pingback: It Is Hard To Have Cancer {Guest Post} | The Bona Fide Life

Leave a Reply

