Hope at Christmas

I’m not sure where the last few weeks have disappeared to, under the veil of stress, illnesses and the general chaos I call life.

I cannot believe we are already at Christmas time this year; it seems only yesterday I was putting on my mask of false smiles and bravo to survive the holiday season of 2009. Yet here it is again Christmas 2010.

The last two years Christmas has been so different, we used to have our Christmas dinner on Christmas Eve, then only a buffet on Christmas day. The reason being that on Christmas day we find ourselves with lots of visits from grandparents, we have four sets and Livvy bless her soul couldn’t wait for her dinner. So buffet food allowed us to feed her on the hop. The last two years we have had Christmas lunch on Christmas day. It didn’t feel right to keep the tradition if the reason we started it isn’t with us anymore. Does that make sense?

So here we are facing our 3rd Christmas without my beautiful daughter. How life has changed in the last years.

Sometimes I wonder if I dare allow myself to hope again. I begin to open my heart and something seems to happen. I don’t want to live my life this way.

So I put my hope for Christmas and everyday in our Lord. In him I know perfect peace. He never promised us an easy life in fact

Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trials you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the suffering of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.” Peter 4:12-13

I’m far from rejoicing in the suffering I wish I could say my faith was that strong, but I do understand and accept the wisdom of Gods plan. The sheer understanding of the why and why not’s are beyond me but I trust in my Lord, my saviour, my hope.

I want to remember the true meaning of Christmas and hold that hope close in my heart. In the stable birth I find the strength to face the new day. In the birth of our Saviour I find my hope.

“And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit whom he has given us” Romans 5:5

So as the season of Christmas is upon I wish you too,

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hope at Christmas

  1. kingfisher says:

    I pray that the Lord will give you a peaceful heart, a peaceful mind, a peaceful body, a peaceful household. May he give you his fullest blessings, so that you will not only be comforted, but also used to bless others — maybe in ways that you don’t even realize!
    God bless and keep you in his care — we believe he does, but we also need to hear it prayed.

Leave a Reply

