Changing the way I think at Christmas

I have to make a conscious decision not to get stressed about Christmas. The emotional and financial aspects of the season are at times extremely wearing.

2010 has been a hard year for us as a family, at times it has felt like we haven’t had a break since losing Livvy in 2008. Money has been so tight and we have struggled but for the most we have been ok, if fact we have been more than ok. So ok no family holidays or extravagant wardrobes but we have cherished family time. Walks in the forest, games on the fields. It’s not been easy; the girls have missed out on opportunities I would have wished them to have. Alan and I would love a night out but the reality is that as I look back throughout the year I can see we have been blessed. A roof over our head, warm food in our stomachs.

A lot more than others throughout the world

Yet still as Christmas approaches I find myself stressed. The girls have been amazing and haven’t asked for a lot but that in itself makes me want to give them more.

Some hard (for me) decisions have had to be made. I love the gift of giving at Christmas the time spent finding the perfect gift for family members. The hoping of the smile the gift will bring. This year we have had to make some changes. Only the children of our family will be getting gifts. Moms, dads, brothers sisters are going to have to just receive our love. I hate this but after speaking to them, no one has minded, if fact they have been so lovely about it. The problem is mine.

So yes Christmas will be tight this year but I know and embrace the real reason for Christmas. I know that my Lord Jesus was born to our world. The beginning of his journey for our salvation! This is the greatest gift.

 16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3.16

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

