Let us not forget.

My granddad would never speak about the war. It didn’t matter how much I pressed him on the subject he stayed quiet. As an adult I wonder if the memories were too hard to face. Yet the photograph I have on my wall shows him wearing his navy uniform with pride.

Today we celebrate Remembrance Sunday. We come together to think about the men and women who for our peace and freedom gave their lives. We also remind ourselves of the many members of the armed forces who are still each and every day laying their lives on the line for our country, for us.

Brodie proudly holding the flag at the rememberance parade

As I watch the old soldiers’ laying down their wreaths I think of my granddad and wonder what memories they hold that torment them.  Sometimes we forget that sometimes the war doesn’t just begin and end on the battle front. We have soldiers coming home injured, scarred both physically and mentally.

Heroes each and every one of them!

salute for our soliders

As I watched Brodie carry the flag for her Brownie pack in the remembrance parade I was struck by the words ‘Let us not forget’.

I want my children to understand how much the members of the armed forces sacrifice for us all.

I never want them to forget, the fallen the injured.

I want to continue our support of the ‘Royal British Legion’ yet our donation in the basket seems so little in the bigger picture of it all.

I want them to remember each night in their prayers the people who are fighting to protect our freedom. Pray they all come home safe.

While yes today is a wonderful mark of respect, I want the girls to remember every day.

‘Let us not forget’

My girls, x

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

