True Value

I have to confess that the last few months have been very hard financially. While emotionally we needed a break from fostering our bank balance didn’t agree. Yes it hasn’t been easy but if I dare to share something with you all. I have to admit at times it has been fun.

As a family we have learned what you can do that doesn’t actually cost that much money. We have spent time at the local nature reserve a beautiful gift just on our doorstep. Days just walking the dog and chatting together, I know as the girls are getting older and more independent it will be these days I will cherish dearly.

Food shopping has been eventful, meal planning, bargain hunting has been made into an adventure to help relieve my depression at times. This week I have actually emptied my freezer, the first time in forever. Some of the meals I have thrown together, honestly you would be surprised what when with what.

It hasn’t been easy, yet after everything we have been through as a family; the lack of money has made us slow down and just enjoy life. What does the song say “the best things in life are free”.

Did you know how long you can spend making shapes in the clouds with your nine-year old, how long your teenagers can talk when you ask them how they view the world. How a DVD and cuddle with your husband can be even better than sitting across from him in a restaurant.

 I won’t go as far too say I’m glad we have struggled this way, but I will say it has taught us all a lot. The last two years my family and I have had to face some hard and heart breaking times, but I am so proud to say we are stronger and united more than ever.

The time has come for us to resume fostering and I pray and hope that the next few years will go easier on us all.

 Whatever life throws at us, we are a family who know the true value of life.

The true value of my life

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to True Value

  1. Gosh, your girls are just stunning Sara. Well done you for making the most of the money-thin times. You are right free stuff makes you sit back and enjoy your family. My boys are loving long bike rides at the moment and my girls are still at that age when the park is the best place in the world!

    Mich x

Leave a Reply

