Can faith change your personality?

Again it’s that time of week when we link up with Faith Barista for her Faith Jam.

This week’s question was, can your faith affect your personality?

 

Well my first answer to this question was going to be No; my faith doesn’t affect who I am. Then I took a good look at the person I have become since finding my faith and the answer has to be YES.

As a Christian I try to live my life following the example set by Jesus, this of course is far from easy. I am sinful by nature from Eve’s legacy. Living a life true to our faith requires compassion, loyalty honesty and love. Things which I have to admit I have missing at times.

So yes I can see that living a life by faith has changed who I am, my personality a lot more than I realised. The biggest change I believe is in the way I react to situations, things that are out of my control. I would have reacted with temper and frustration; words would have been out of my mouth before I would have considered the consequences. Now before I react I try to remember to ask myself, what would Jesus do? This brings my behaviour and temper into check; it changes my response to many matters.

Along with the changes to my nature, I have found that my faith has brought me peace. That inner harmony of knowing that I’m not on my own! Whatever life throws at me I have Jesus in my corner, by my side.  You could never imagine how much this knowledge has given me, the strength I have taken from it over the last two years. When I lost my daughter the truth that she was safe in the arms of Jesus was the reason I could continue, why I still can.

After writing this I laugh at the arrogance of my first answer. That I believed who I am is down to my own doing. When in reality I couldn’t be further from the truth. My beliefs form a large part of who I am, who I wish to follow.

I wish I could say that I live a life true to my faith, but perfection is not within my grasp. The journey towards this is full of twists and turns and crossroad and I at times simply get lost.

Yet that doesn’t stop me from trying to travel the right path. The knowledge of God’s grace and Jesus’ amazing sacrifice gives me the strength and the courage to try again.

Wow, thanks again to Bonnie at Faith Barista for providing me an opportunity to look closer at myself and question who I am and why?

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can faith change your personality?

  1. I love this blog. Thanks for your faithful honesty.

  2. Tia says:

    And of course, the fruit of the Holy Spirit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control (Gal 5.22). If we allow the Holy Spirit in, He will grow this fruit in us. Now I’m the first to admit it’s a pretty slow growth in some (ok too many) of those areas for me, but I know that too few of those things are a part of my natural sinful nature; so where they do become a part of my personality, that’s as a direct result of my faith. Or rather, as a result of God’s faithfulness to me…
    Tia

  3. I love this post, Sara. So honest — it speaks right into what’s real. You are spotlighting how faith actually makes you feel and think. And you’re telling it to us through transparency, trusting we see God in it.. and guess what, we see you there too! 🙂

    “My beliefs form a large part of who I am, who I wish to follow.” My fave line here! Thanks for jamming, Sara!

  4. Donna says:

    Sara, I really enjoyed this post.

    “The knowledge of God’s grace and Jesus’ amazing sacrifice gives me the strength and the courage to try again.” So true!!

  5. urbanvox says:

    Hi Sara,
    I am completely sure that faith can shape the way we think and do things. I was born in a Christian family and raised that way… and am part of the 3rd generation of ministers within my family so I am not joking when I say that I have seen way too many examples of that to tell the contrary.
    Having told that… I have also seen people improving a lot after deciding drop religion altogether… so yes… you can say that faith (or the lack of) does affect directly our personality…
    BTW… Thanks for the visit! hope to see you around more often. 🙂 Love your blog!
    zya!

Leave a Reply

