Discovering our purpose.

 Amazing how we change as we grow. Seasons of our life. As a young child I had many dreams. Deep convictions of the person I wished to be. Fast forward a few years, I’m the wild teenager who has no desires. Life was something God used to punish us.

I’ve dreamed of being many things, a dancer, a soldier, and a business woman. Nothing close to the dream, reality is far from the fantasy.

My identity is something I struggle with on a daily basis. What people see of me is not always the real person inside.

Faith adds a new dimension to your thinking. Just like the moment you become a mother, you become second in your life.  This isn’t a bad thing it’s the realisation of love. Loving someone more than you could ever love yourself. The feelings when I first held my daughter’s words could never describe.

I often wonder of the baby blues you know those few days after giving birth, you find yourself crying for no apparent reason. I find that the emotional impact of loving becomes overwhelming. How such a tiny infant could consume every inch of your heart and soul with love.

I digress but I hope with a point. Finding my faith felt a lot like becoming a parent, the impact of knowing something beyond wonder, bigger than your wildest dreams. The reality that you are a small part, in a much bigger picture. Small but not insignificance! You find yourself asking the question’s not what I want, but what I can do to bring glory to God. The strangest thing is that the two are not different. In what God has called me to do I have found so much joy. Not surprising, God knows me better than I know myself.

I would have never imagined how much I enjoy being a mom. How I loved caring for my daughter with severe needs. As a teenager I would have bolted at the mere mention of any job that involved caring. Yet here I am years later a mother by birth and by heart.

Yes God knew my heart. I discovered God’s purpose for myself and in doing so found where my heart belonged.

 

Today’s post is part of Bonnie’s Jam at Faith Barista  popover to her site for a warm welcome and amazing writing that can not help but move you.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Discovering our purpose.

  1. ahh a lovely post. I only wish I knew as yet what my purpose is. At the moment it is my season to be my childrens carer and teacher but I do not have enough confidece in my abilities to think that is the purpose the Lord has for me or is that just me being disobient! Either could be.

    Mich x

  2. Becoming a parent has definitely given God new access to my heart. To me, learning to allow God to lead me has deepened my faith because many times with parenting, I am totally dependent on Him! Parenting is really life — it is bigger than us — thanks for sharing such beautifully expressed thoughts on faith and motherhood for the jam, Sara!

    • sarawith4 says:

      Being a parent is the only emotion I can use to express the overwhelming love I feel for God. But his purpose for me as a mother is why I became a foster carer for children with severe needs.

      I’m loving your faith jam. Thank you for allowing me to open my heart.

      Sara xx

  3. Sheryl says:

    What a powerful analogy! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

