Competition

Competition

I have to confess how I hate competitions. The nervous tension, the sick feeling that lies in the bottom of my stomach. Watching the faces of the competitors, the nerves etched on their faces. The small giggles that escape through pursed lips.

I especially hate them when it involves children. How I wish it could be like we all say, “it’s the taking part that counts” sportsmanship, but it isn’t. They all want to win, 2nd doesn’t cut it.

My daughters have all entered into the world of competitions in singing and ice skating. I am so proud of them but with all my heart I can honestly say I wish they hadn’t. They are in fact good sports; they root generally for friends and complement honestly on others performances and truthfully wish them well.

For me I just feel sick, no matter how many times I tell them how proud I am of them, how to go out and enjoy themselves, I see the desire to win burn brightly in their eyes.

The reality of life is that they won’t always win, some days with come back with a 2nd, a 3rd some days we don’t even make the board, but for me my girls are always winners.

Today was a good day; Eden took part in her first ice skating competition since returning to the sport in August. Yes it was only a local competition but for her it mattered. No matter how chirpy or blasé she pretended to be her eyes gave it all away, she wanted to do well, and she wanted to win.

Gold for Eden

 

 I was a proud mom before she skated; I am a proud mom now too.

 

Well done Eden, you did great xxxx

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Competition

  1. Well done indeed 😀
    I understand what you mean about competition. I think as long as your girls understand that even in those times when they don’t come in first (and it happens to everyone) they are valuable, talented, and should try again they will be great.

  2. Tina says:

    Fantastic Eden. You are a winner all the time in our hearts sweetheart.

  3. Julie Elliot says:

    I know Sara , we are far more nervous than they are. Natalie competed from being 7 until she was 15, it never got any easier in fact sometimes I couldn’t even watch xxxxxxx

  4. Ahh well done Eden. How lovely. I know what you mean thought about worrying for them. I wa stoked when JJ won a sports day race earlier this, he has never won anything like that before and it meant so much to him.

    Long time no speak, Mich x

Leave a Reply

