What is your dream????

What would be your dream if you won the lottery? I ask this question often and am not really surprised by the answers I receive.

Exotic holidays, the fastest cars, best clothes, new houses, people dream about them all.

My dream is different.

I would buy a new house, but it would have to be built with purpose designed bedrooms for disabled children.

If money was no object I would adopt. I would open my home to children with severe needs who are in care.  Maybe from this country maybe from others, the destination isn’t the issue the need is.

I dream of a new car, a fully adapted wheelchair accessible van. Crazy I know.

My heart is full of love for children with disabilities that was the legacy my daughter left deep inside me. It’s a heart I am so grateful for. It has brought me pain but so much joy to.

As a foster carer of children with special needs I do get in a way to live part of my dream, but the reality of fostering is the lack of forever for the child. I want to offer forever. I want to give forever.

Am I insane maybe but i know without a doubt I would be happy.  Off course being a lottery winner would also allow me to take Livvy’s Smile to the next level. It would also open up funding for Rett Syndrome Research Trust two charities’ which have my heart.

As I write this I remind myself that I don’t actually have a go on the lottery, not really into the concept of gambling, then I question if I don’t take the chance how can the dream be achieved.

Any suggestions on this, do I have a go or not?

 

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is your dream????

  1. Tia says:

    Oi! That was my dream! Isn’t it good though that so many of us can share this dream?

    Our sermon yesterday started with the question “What are you longing for?”

    I’m challenged by Sarah (or Sarah’s Covenant Homes) who didn’t wait for the lottery before effectively adopting over 80 children. I don’t think I’m called to take 80, but I’m pretty sure I’m not done yet with just the girls I have. And yet, and yet, rules and regulations here in this country, bedroom space and everything else… All I can do is be willing, and that’s probably the same for you.

    • sarawith4 says:

      That’s exactly how I feel. Sarah inspires me. Would love one day to meet her. I want to extend my family and are just waiting to God’s timetable. (Though struggling to be patient).

      I did smile when I saw we shared the same dream. Really wished we had managed to chat if I had made it to camping. Xxx

  2. I have so many dreams that I want to put into place. None of which will happen without winning the lottery, yet I dont ever do it. Its a vicious cycle!

    Your dreams are truely inspirational hunni! So many people dream selfish things yet all your dreams are for others! xxxx

  3. Tina says:

    My Grace is sufficient. ….

    That is God’s Grace. (not mine).

    Hugs

  4. Wonderful, it is also my dream to adopt special needs children and open my home to not only them but the homeless who just need a second chance. My son and I talk about this often. We believe that if we win the lottery we will not only be able to fund a cure for Rett but also live out this dream to house and clothe the homeless and disabled. I know 2 moms who take in only kids with special needs as foster children, they are my heros, I have to tell them that, I’m sure they’ve never heard that before. Thank you for your post and your beautiful heart.

Leave a Reply

