The Gift

As part of our fostering we were asked to undertake a course on Autism. The course was informative but after raising a child with Rett Syndrome a lot of what was discussed was what I had lived.

I listened to the speaker and my heart was filled with missing. I was lucky enough to have an opportunity to speak to the course lecturer. We chatted about Livvy and what I had learned from her and how this has helped me recognise issues with other children quicker and that I had learned quite a unique skill set which allowed me to help these vulnerable children.   Then he said something which left me reeling both in wonder and anguish. “Your daughter is a gift that keeps on giving.

I was lost for words; I do know that Livvy taught me so much, she taught us all. She took us all out of our safety zones on a daily basis. Threw challenges at us to overcome. Yet she did all this with the beauty and grace that was her amazing spirit.

 So yes the lecturer was right “A gift that keeps on giving” how incredible is my darling daughter.

So next time I deal with a child who has a processing problem or has obsessions or one of the many others issues that can rise within the autistic spectrum.  I will smile and remember my beautiful and adorable teacher and send a quick kiss and thanks to Heaven.

Until we are together again, thank you Livvy my beautiful gift. xxx

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gift

  1. Hayley says:

    Hunni what a wonderful way to be able to remember Livvy by! Never a truer word spoken! 🙂 *big hugs*xxx

Leave a Reply

