One Special Young Man

On a hospital ward many years ago I met an amazing lady and her handsome cheeky son named Ryan. This young man showed me that disability doesn’t define who our children are. Their spirit, their soul does.

A character who brought tears of joy to my eyes and my heart.

Livvy soon realised what a catch he was, and before long we teased them about being boyfriend and girlfriend. Livvy would giggle at hearing his name. Ryan’s face would light up at hers.

 Ryan and his family have given my family so much. They showed us that the only limitations on our children are the ones we put in place.

They even convinced us to try camping. Many are shocked at the idea of seriously disabled children camping but its possible and so much fun.

Livvy and Ryan became known as double trouble; let me tell you a story.

One New Year we were all together to celebrate when we noticed Ryan in a fit of giggles. We hadn’t a clue what had tickled him until we turned around to find Livvy helping herself to my glass of wine. The little monkeys.

Ryan and his amazing family are so dear to my heart, we may not see each other every week but when we are together it is like we have never been apart.

I will never forget his face when we first visited him without Livvy, he knew she was gone but yet I believe in his heart he was praying.

Ryan went to join Livvy yesterday. Fifteen years is much too young, but this young man lived a life full of love and laughter. I believe God saw he was weary and called him home.

I had the blessing to spend some time with Ryan in his last days. Yes he was heavily sedated but I pray he heard me tell him how much he means to me. How much I love him.

Unfortunately I know the pain so well his family are feeling today. The emptiness of their hearts and their arms. I want to wrap them all up and take away their pain.

The bravery this family have showed in the last months I cannot put into words. The strength they have had in the last days.

They are simply incredible. I now pray for their comfort and healing.

Ryan please give Livvy a kiss for me. I love you to the moon, stars and back again.

John 3.15 “ That everyone who believes in him may have eternal life”.

 

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Special Young Man

  1. kaira says:

    What a precious tribute. Praying that all who love him are able to grieve fully and find peace knowing they will meet again in Heaven – where all will sing and dance together. ((Hugs))

  2. Chele says:

    Oh sweet Sara! I am so sorry for this loss but God can use to help this family through! HUGS! I’m praying for all involved.

  3. Cherie says:

    Sara I am so sorry for more heaviness for your heart to carry. Praise God that these two beautiful children are now completely healed in the presence of their Savior!

  4. Susie says:

    I’m so sorry to hear. Sending condolences to his family and all who loved him.

  5. Tina says:

    Sara. I know you must be such an encouragement, comfort and Witness to Ryan’s family. I praise God for your presence there for them. Blessed are they who mourn for they shall be comforted.
    I sometimes think it is almost as hard to watch someone you love go through this as it was for me first hand. Now I am crying once more for your broken heart and those of Ryans family. But I am so glad for the assurance that this life is not all there is. Ryan like Livvy, Luke, Benjamin and G. All had completed the work God gave them hre and are now running free praising God in fullness. Not resting in peace. Oh how I smile when I read those words of condolance. Rest in Peace! No fear. No resting. Now with new bodies and filled with the power of God I am sure resting is the last thing on our childrens minds.
    Love and hugs. Give those tears to Him. He who turned water into wine can do so much more with our tears. Love you

Leave a Reply

