The Wonderous Gift of Memories

The last few days have been full of memories. Together we have laughed and we have cried.

Memories can be an amazing gift but they can also bring us pain. Time plays an essence in this. When your pain is raw you don’t want to remember, when time has softened the broken pieces of your heart memories become smiles that gently lift your spirit.

I still have days when the splinters in my heart cause me pain but for the most I’m doing ok. I am glad of the gift of love my memories bring.

How I wish I could teach the world the importance of creating memories, so many wait until it’s too late.

I am so thankful that God gave me a wakeup call in 2004, Livvy nearly died. The shock of being so close to losing her and the relief of gaining a reprieve rocked our family to the core. It taught us to make everyday count.

Never go to bed on an argument.

Forgive each other as no one is perfect.

Cherish your children for childhood flies by way to fast.

Hold each other close.

The big one for us is love each other with ALL your heart. I’m sure we could all add many more.

Since we lost Livvy in 2008 it has been the memories that have kept us strong. Her testimony to our lives.  This is the reason we started her charity Livvy’s Smile to help create  special memories for others .

As I am watching a family I care deeply for suffer so much over these last few days. I want to give thanks for their memories. The days of joy that in time will bring them comfort. Tears full of the laughter we have all shared together.

Memories are the greatest gift we can give to ourselves. They don’t require money; they only require time, love and laughter.

Whatever you are doing this week create a memory. Snuggles at bedtime, hot chocolate chats and back garden races. Laugh, love and create.

I also know without a doubt that we will all be reunited with our lost loved ones again one day. That will be a time for great celebration and a time for new memories.

Revelation 21:4  He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

 

My girls all together xx

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wonderous Gift of Memories

  1. Thank you for opening your heart so fully to share this truth.

  2. Sara, your words brought tears into my heart… because they are so beautifully true. I know your heart is still so raw… 2008 is not that long ago, but also very long at the same time, I’m sure. How beautiful your memories are. How beautiful Livvy is as you hodl her in your heart. You’ve inspired me to try and find each day, a moment to “create memories”, as you say.

Leave a Reply

