Are Online friends, REAL friends.

I was chatting to my husband last night about friendships.

How much they mean to us? How, sometimes friendship can be a risky business. It can bring you joy, but it can also bring you pain.

For the last few years my friendships have really changed. Some I believed would be friends for life have disappeared into the wilderness. Others have grown and flourished.

 We then got on to the subject of the friendships I have made online, through various ways, blogging twitter and facebook. He asked if I believed these to be real friendships.

Wow REAL friendship??

 I know I wonder quite often if the people I chat to daily would like me if we were to meet in real life but then again why shouldn’t they. The conversations we have over the internet are probably more honest than many face to face ones. We don’t try to be what we think the other wants. We get to be open with our beliefs our dreams and wishes. I also know for me that writing how I feel is easier than saying it.

Of course you have some who pretend the world is wonderful around them, but to be honest you can see through that quite easily. No one’s life is perfect we all struggle and have problems. That’s doesn’t mean we are unhappy just that’s life.

Would I like to meet my online friends in the real world? You bet ya, yes the first five minutes may be a bit awkward but before long all those conversations that have kept us up till the early hours would come as easy as if we were still hiding behind our keyboards. The best thing though is that all those virtual hugs would become real ones.

Online friendships are amazing. You become friends due to who you are and what you believe not just because you live down the road or attended the same school. We converse with people who really understand us and what we are about. We support, guide mentor each other from our hearts. I have found people who really understand me, my desire to raise my children well, and my love of my faith.

Yes of course I would love meals out, coffee mornings and days at the park with these friends, but I thank God for the internet and for bringing people into my life.

The internet brings people who are like-minded together, unfortunately that isn’t always a good thing but that is another blog post (the evils of the internet).

Today I am just grateful for my real life friends and my online friends both bring me joy. Thank you all for showing the value of friendship.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Are Online friends, REAL friends.

  1. SomeGirl says:

    I’d LOVE to meet you! ((HUGS)) Have you thought about going to something like The Relevant Conference? So many of my blogging/twitter friends are going and I can’t wait to meet them… that would be fun if you were there! ♥ Michelle

  2. Sunny says:

    One of my best friends is someone I met on line over 10 years ago. We talk on the phone occasionally, and we have even met once a year even though she lives over 1200 miles away. I was going through a rough patch when we met and I couldn’t have made it through without her. She knew things that I didn’t even tell my girlfriends who live nearby. I love her and when I retire am planning on spending a lot more time with her.

  3. Tia says:

    We met online and then took that step to meeting our here in the real world. I will always remember your darling girl making her way (with help!) across the field in search of our biscuits! I never thought we’d be mutual members of the “parents who have outlived their children” club, but without my online friends, my capter of that club would have just one, very lonely, member.

    Are online relationships real? Yes, very much so! And just like face to face relationships, sometimes they’re great, sometimes they’re awful. Some cyber friends are soul mates, others simply pleasant acquaintances.

    It’s a different way of being but it’s no less real for all that.
    Tia

    • sarawith4 says:

      How I remember Livvy pinching a certain young ladies biscuit. The image of L’s face.
      I don’t think I could have faced losing Livvy without having people who really understood the pain.

      You don’t know what strength you have given me. X

  4. Lori says:

    very much real… ❤ The strength you give me is very much valued. xx

  5. annkroeker says:

    Your thoughts are exactly what we’re exploring over at High Calling Blogs. Last week and this week, we asked people to ponder how real online relationships are (or aren’t), and the discussion has been interesting. You are not alone in finding great value and depth in the people you’ve gotten to know through the World Wide Web.

  6. annkroeker says:

    By the way, in case you’re interested, here are the precise links to the “real” posts:

    http://highcallingblogs.com/10100/we-are-real/

    http://highcallingblogs.com/10275/biscuit-weather/

  7. thegypsymama says:

    We would be friends. I am sure of it.

  8. I have been blessed to make some very good friends on the internet over the years and you know the cool thing is that when we have met in person it was not all that awkward. For me it was like when I run into an old friend from High School I haven’t seen in years and there is a kind of excitement to it all. Funny how that works 🙂

Leave a Reply

