What does it mean to be a Mom of Daughters

 

My husband and I used to spend hours talking about the kind of parents we wanted to be. The dreams we had for our longed for children. These didn’t involve money or power just love and happiness.

When I was pregnant I didn’t care about the gender just that they were healthy. When my daughter was placed in my arms I looked into my husband’s face and watched the tears as they rolled unashamed from him. His look told me all I needed to know, daddy’s girl. 

No matter what the future would bring, this child would always know she was loved, she was special. She would be protected at any cost.

God was generous to our family and blessed us with three more amazing daughters. So I guess I can say I have a full membership into the mod squad. 

So many times people would ask the question “did you try for a boy”. I can say hand on heart no, we tried for a child and God blessed us with four amazing girls.

Their personalities are so different, shy, carefree, stubborn, fun-loving, quiet. Each one so different, yet so alike!

I love being a mom to my girls. I will admit getting scary as they are growing up. Keeping them safe as they wish to spread their wings. Praying for their hearts. This is where I find comfort from the MOD squad as I can share my worries with people who really understand.

Our dreams for our girls have changed; our third daughter was born with a devastating condition, Rett Syndrome which took her from us in 2008. From our daughter we learned so much about life. What really mattered, quality time, kisses and cuddles Losing her broke the hearts of our daughters along of course with ours. As parents we had to spend time holding them close, showing them they had to learn to laugh again to enjoy life. Time does help but faith kept us strong, knowing without a doubt, that we will be reunited again.

I am so proud of my girls, the courage they have shown in their life has amazed me. They hold me when I struggle and I promise to always hold them. I pray daily for their futures but with hearts like theirs and their inner strength I’m sure they will do well. I wish them true love and happiness.  As for my husband and I, we have been blessed with four incredible daughters for this we thank God.

 

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What does it mean to be a Mom of Daughters

  1. Stacey says:

    Your words are so heart felt and I am so blessed by your reminder to hold them close and cherish the little moments of our day.

    What beautiful girls you have! Praying for you today,

    Stacey

  2. Amy says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your amazing MODSquad story with us. God truly has blessed our lives with these girls and I look forward to this journey of raising them together as mothers. I think we all have so much to learn from each other. Praying for comfort for you today and always. ~Amy

  3. Brianna says:

    Such a beautiful heart you clearly have! And what a beautiful family. Thank you for your wisdom…

  4. Cherie says:

    Sara, the photos are beautiful. You have touched my heart today. Thank you.

  5. rhonda says:

    Sara, I am so incredibly sorry for your loss. We lost my brother to an accident when I was six, and I remember vividly the pain my parents went through. I know there are no words that I can offer. Just know that even now, a year later, I will be lifting you up in prayer.

    I am glad that you posted on my site, so that I got to know you. Much prayer will be sent on your behalf over the next few weeks. All four are beautiful.

  6. sara, you’ve touched my heart. with eyes filled with tears for your joy, pain, blessings, suffering, gain and loss … thank you for sharing your heart. your girls are beautiful & i thank you for sharing them with us!

  7. monkeymummy says:

    What a touching post and what beautiful girls. I feel the same about my daughter who is only 7 months, I never thought I could feel like this but I would move heaven and earth for her x

  8. This is so beautiful, Sara. I’m so glad you blog!

  9. Jessica says:

    I really appreciated your words- so heart-felt & dripping with truth. We have 4 girls as well (with one boy added in)… so your words hit home. Thank-you for sharing you heart. What beautiful girls you have!
    Thank-you for stopping by my blog- I hope you will come again!
    Blessings,
    Jessica

  10. Jennifer says:

    I am so very sorry for the loss you have endured. What a testimony of faith you have shared here with the world. Your daughters are beautiful, and I can see why you are so proud of them.

  11. Sheri says:

    So sorry for the loss of your daughter. Thank you for sharing your story and your blessings!

    Sheri

  12. Audra says:

    I am so sorry for your loss! Your heartfelt post brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing.

  13. Stacy says:

    I, too, am so thankful for the MODsquad blog. It is a wonderful thing to be reminded that we are not alone in our desire to raise godly young women.

    I am so sorry for your loss. I can not imagine such pain.

    Blessings to you today!

  14. tricia says:

    What beautiful little girls. Hold them close each and everyday. They truly are our joy.

Leave a Reply

