Change my Perspective

On Sunday I had the absolute pleasure to hear Rachel Hickson speak at my church. To say she spoke for God would be a total understatement.

For me hearing her words was like an explosion in my mind. The last few weeks I have struggled. Lost and bound by fear. I’m being totally honest when I confess I’m scared. To put myself out there again in case I get hurt, my family gets hurt. As a family we have suffered enough grief, enough heartache.

Rachel spoke about Courage, how I needed to hear this. Rachel asked us to look at our perspectives, the way we view situations to look at the wider picture of life.

Last night as I lay in bed I began thinking of Rachel’s words I was reminded of Luke 24, 15.17

While they were talking and discussing, Jesus himself approached and began travelling with them. But their eyes were prevented from recognising him”.

I believe at times God does prevent us from seeing what is around the corner or behind the closed-door.

It is times like this when we need to have trust, to stand strong in faith. So many times, pain and fear hide the good from us. We become blind to the truth and just want to believe the negative lies.

I have learned, lived this lesson the last few months. So many people telling me what good we have done when all I could see was the loss.

God may have been preventing me from seeing what was coming but I should have known, for he has never forsaken me.

The enemy loves it when we listen to the negative thoughts he places in our mind. He loved us to forget that we are never alone. I confess there have been times when I have felt so alone.

Never have I doubted God, just myself. I believed I had let God down.

When will I learn???

Yes the future can and probably will be a very scary place full of heartache and pain. If the past taught me anything it is this. If I could get a pair of scales and weigh all the pain on one side and all the joy on another. The joy would certainly outweigh the pain.

Again, a different perspective!

Yes moving forward on my chosen path may be risky and painful but there is no doubt about the joy it will bring. My cup will overflow with love and laughter.

A new perspective takes me forward (thank you Rachel), along with the courage my faith gives me.

Hebrew 12 1:3

“Let us, run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith.”

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Change my Perspective

  1. mcProdigal says:

    I am in this situation right now, I can feel something around the corner but I cannot see it. My hope is in whatever that unnamed thing is, in whatever God has set up for me to do.

  2. Kelly Butler says:

    I needed to hear these words…thank you!
    HUGS…….

  3. sarawith4 says:

    Its hard to try and see the good when it seems so dark but God is always there to light our pathways xx

  4. Thanks for your visit.

    Thanks for sharing this too – encouraging and challenging!

  5. A fresh perspective is always good. I love the idea of scales weighing up the joy and pain, the good wins every time. The victory is His. Mich x

  6. Beautiful! The last scripture verse is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

