Innocence is Uncool

I was having a conversation with K my eldest daughter last night when she disclosed some rumour that has been going around her school. I don’t know if it is true but it has made me sick to my stomach.. K is 14 on sunday and hasn’t got a boyfriend so maybe I’ve been lucky but I pray I have raised her to respect herself. I want her to grow up before she falls in love.

 I find it shocking at the way some of the girls have been so open about being sexually active. My stomach is churning just thinking of it. K tells me people call her a goody two shoes. She isn’t worried but why is it cool to be sexually active at such a young age. Am I naïve to wish for children to be allowed to be children. Why is innocence so uncool. 

It’s so hard watching my daughters grow up. Knowing that I can only protect them so much. That I have to loosen the apron strings (so says my mom).  I pray I have raised wise girls who know how special they are. I hope the example of marriage Alan and I have shown them gives them an idea of what they deserve.

Raising my girls I want them to know how incredible they are. How life is there for their taking. How dreams are within their reach. I didn’t believe this of myself when I was growing up. I made many mistakes but I thank God for sending me Alan. He showed me how I deserved to be loved. He gave me courage and strength to believe in myself.

 This is all I wish for my children to love and be loved.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Innocence is Uncool

  1. I have thought about this subject often and my biggest one is only 6. It really does appear to be uncool to wait until you are older. I did not, and wish I had of, I will definately try to encourage my children to make sex something special rather than just a thing on the tick list of life. Mich x

  2. So with you on this subject; it is definitely not cool to be sexually active at 14 then get pregnant and lose all your friends. I know it happens but I prefer to think it won’t happen to mine. I sometimes wonder if giving sex education talks at such an early age (i.e. my daughter is 10 and receives this at school) is actually damaging because it makes children more aware of sex. But I’m no expert. I’m just a mum who, like you, wants what is best for her child.

    It’s a difficult subject and I wish you luck in broaching it.
    CJ xx

  3. I’ve been accused of being overprotective, but I think your concerns are justified. It sounds like you’re doing a good job since your daughter was willing to share this with you! Fabtastic 🙂 The thing is, 14 is not grown; you may have raised a wise girl so far, but you’re far from finished raising her. This is why (no disrespect to your mom) the idea of “loosening the apron strings) at this point in your child’s life is ludicrous. She needs your continued guidance. Of course you need to let her experience life, but only little, safe bits at a time. Not enough supervision and influence is what is causing such ignorant ideas in the other girls. This is what happens when children are “let go” too early in the name of teaching independence. They have no life experience to draw on and formed warped world views, like “innocence is uncool”. Just my 2 cents; you’re doing a great job, keep it up, don’t let go to early np matter what “the world” tells you 🙂

    • sarawith4 says:

      This is exactly how i feel. I would rather be overprotective and have her safe that any other thing. To be she is still my baby my chidl and i want to keep her safe. I have eased up on some things but then i hear stories she tells me and want to lock her up. Im so grateful she talks openly to me and enjoys life within the church to x

  4. It is scary how fast they grow up. I remember vividly going from Primary school where we were hideously protected and the world was all rosy to secondary school where it really wasnt. I learnt words I’d never heard before, heard things I had no idea what they meant, I blagged it that I knew so not to stand out. That was in 2001 and I have no idea what its like now but i can only imagine its worse. It does bug me that our kids dont stay kids long enough, not like the “olden days” 😉 xx

  5. SomeGirl says:

    Your daughter sounds like she is wise beyond her years already just by talking with you about these things… I’ll pray for her (and you) right now! What a dark, gross time the teenage years can be… may her teenage years be full of Light! ♥ Michelle

Leave a Reply

