Life is a test !

Blessed are those who endure when they are tested. When they pass the test, they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love.” James 1.12

So life is a test! This I can understand but sometimes accepting it isn’t so easy. The question WHY raises its head too many times. Trusting in God is easy, understanding why isn’t. Well not for me anyway. The pain of my loss is just too raw.

Like most parents who have lost a child I question why them, not me? It’s not that I wish to die though I would rather have it been me any day that’s a fact.

I know that God loves us all and that when I weep he weeps with me but sometimes my tears blind me to this.

Losing my child was a gigantic test of my faith. Living my life without her seems sometimes out of reach. Endurance is something that I have to find each and every day. I know there is a plan for my life. Maybe that’s why I am struggling as I have no idea what the plan is.

As a child I felt like I had no control over my life and I know this is the reason I became the way I was, over obsessed by planning and organisation. I have learned to let go a little but at this exact moment in time that fear of being out of control is so overwhelming.

I need to stay strong in my faith and my trust of God. As a new Christian I am trying but I have moments of doubt. I have people around me who challenge me “If there is a God, why do these terrible things happen”? Or “you must be evil for God to punish you so”. I know this is what the enemy wishes me to believe. Sometimes it’s hard not to, especially as I do wonder if I have been evil. I know I fall far from perfection.

Some days it would be easier to feel this way it would be easier to hate than to hope. I refuse to do this. I have faith and trust. I guess the perfect quote for me today is from Mother Teresa

“I know God will not give me anything that I cannot handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much”

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Life is a test !

  1. The only thing I can say is that I was told when I was younger that sometimes the test that we are taking (life) for some is very easy and they complete it in a shorter amount of time than others.

    Prayers and hugs to you.

    Pippa

  2. Melinda says:

    I’m reading your pain. Sometimes the path seems so clear and easy to see – sometimes all you can see is the next step to take. Prayers for you and your family.

  3. Amanda says:

    Your faith is commendable! No parent should suffer the loss of a child, but you are handling it with grace. I absolutely love that MT quote!

  4. terilynneu says:

    Sweet friend, I continue to pray for you and your family.

  5. Julie says:

    For much different reasons I am struggling with what God’s plan is for my life as well. We just have to believe and know that God’s plan will win out over Satan’s attacks in the end. And I love that quote from Mother Theresa.

    Beautiful post.

  6. Jackie Aus says:

    Pleasure to be here, I came from SPREADING JOY Marie’s blog 🙂
    I’ll get informed about what the Rett Syndrome is all about
    I am very sorry for the loss of your little girl
    Of course she is with the LORD JESUS and yes, in perfect health and harmony

  7. Billy Coffey says:

    I think I’d be better with life being one test after another if all the notes were given BEFORE the test started. Sadly (and in my case, anyway), it seems that all the notes are usually given afterward. It’s a struggle, no doubt. But I think the trick is to try and find some sort of beauty in that struggle, because I really do think there’s always some there.

Leave a Reply

