Trusting my own judgement

I love social networking. It’s brought out a side of me I didn’t know I had. Or if the truth be known I had lost under the weight of life.

I love the way I get to chat to random people. Who without the network sites I would have never come across. Separated by distance, culture and life.

My mom used to say you could leave me in a room of strangers and in half an hour I would have learned their life stories.

I love learning about others, meeting new people.

Yet the last few weeks the joy has been slipping away. I have found myself being caught up in judgements, arguments, dislikes etc etc.

I feel like I’m back at school hearing people saying “don’t talk to her”or “he’s not nice or “guess what they did “.

I hate it with a vengeance.

Life is so diverse that we are going to come across people who we don’t agree with. Who we won’t like and you know what that’s ok. But everybody deserved respect. To openly criticise someone’s way of life actually says more about you as a person than it does about them.

My grandad once told me that the best thing I could ever do is “remember there are always two sides to a story”. He also said that maybe both sides won’t actually concern me.

You know what he is right.

I believe social networking is creating paranoia in the world. People are sure that certain tweets, status updates are about them. I know I have felt this way to. Maybe they are but they is always a good chance they are not. The reality is does it actually matter.

If people like you they will seek out your friendship, if people don’t like you then fair enough they won’t. The truth is it’s not the end of the world.

I’m taking a step back and putting my social networking into perspective.

I love it and always will. But I am
not going to listen to the others opinions on others I’m going to trust my own judgement. Maybe I will lose friends, followers but at least I know I have shown the respect I wish for myself.

My hope is that in doing this I will find my joy again.

About sarawith4

I'm a stay at home mom who loves her faith and and family. I am a new christian and still learning about the glory and grace of our Lord. I'm also a grieving mom who has to try each day to smile. Knowing my child is with the Lord brings me comfort but doesn't take away the pain of missing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trusting my own judgement

  1. sharonfadale says:

    Amen to that!! Just this week, I was overwhelmed by the politics and religious arguing that was all over my twitter feed and my Facebook stream. It was crazy – I just wanted to delete everyone and start over! You’re not alone in what you see. It’s sad, that in this huge world, we are so polarized over so many things. I don’t try to be “PC” but at the same time, I don’t go around fussing with everyone. It’s sad that we are unable to respect each other. Good for you for calling us out on this and making us think about what we say and don’t say… we can learn so much from each other if we just get past our judgement and our self-centered perspectives!

    **Jumping down from my soap box now!**

    • sarawith4 says:

      Thank you, it’s suprising how easy it is to get caught up in it all. Like I said ive personally found myself asking, was that aimed at me. It’s crazy. Thank you for reading and commenting xxx

  2. Tracy Cazaly says:

    Interesting post, interesting thoughts! I for one, haven’t come across anything of this nature but maybe I just don’t notice, or perhaps I spend too much time with my head in the clouds, either way, I totally agree, there is two sides to every story and both are equally important! If I don’t agree, then I just agree to disagree. Keep on blogging!! xx

  3. urbanvox says:

    as usual straight to the point and on the ball hunny!!!
    couldn;t have put it better myself… I am sooooooo tiered of that paranoia you have no idea…
    Isn’t social media all about meeting people with different people of different walks and keeping up with the ones you know and love?
    then might as well do it! :)

Leave a Reply

